Posted by: rosanneromero | February 17, 2016

No One Bats A Thousand Times

To all those I taught, tutored, mentored, “tormentored”  when I taught highschool,  I know (I realize now) that many of my words stuck to you.  And because some of your lives have not turned out the way you expected it would, I feel just a weebit responsible for feeding you all that idealism,  all that Little Prince stuff…and the Giving Tree and the One Day I’ll Write You A Happy Poem.  I feel your disappointment.

Better to write me here….Facebook is like an “exhibitionist’s” playground.  Chim, you’re safer here as I have very very few friends and fewer still are those who actually come visit me here.   I get it when you say you want out…that NO ONE BATS A THOUSAND TIMES.  I get that.

From the song The Boxer, remember these lines…

“In the clearing stands a boxer, and a fighter by his trade 
And he carries the reminders
Of ev’ry glove that layed him down
Or cut him… till he cried out in his anger and his shame 
“I am leaving, I am leaving”
But the fighter still remains.”

Fighters remain even if it seems they’ll never  recover from some of the blows life has dealt them.  The shame, the insult, the reducing you, the constant aching.  This may sound elegiac…but what I told you about God still holds true.  He holds the earth in His hands.  He measures the universe with the span of His hand (isang dangkal lang sa Kanya!)  He causes the movement of the stars.  He cares about you.  All that is not diminished just because someone hurt you and messed up your life.

If you’re going to fight tooth and nail for anything, fight for this.  Fight to keep believing.

Responses

  1. hi roxanne. i am jen. i am 34 yrs old now. i am your fan since u was in college. i really love your book, amusing grace. i was able to talk to you one time in camp aguinaldo theater. that was during rinka’s album launch. i did also buy her album. i am in a midst of uncertainty, frustrations of wanting to live a simply life yet to many people depend on me. i am working as a manager and every day i deal w/ all the stress. i just want to give up but i cant. i remembered your book when i started to contemplate on everything that i feel now.
    i hope you are doing well and happy. God bless you.

  2. Hi Jen. Do you want to meet up ba? I’d be glad to pray with you and share with you whatever wisdom God gives me.

    The pressure on you must be unbearable at times. But giving up is not an option, Jen. It doesn’t make things better, and doesn’t solve anything. Baka nagtatampo ka Kay God….go back to Him, cry Your heart out to Him and wait patiently for Him to move.

    Just curious, hiw did you find this blog?


Leave a Reply

Categories

