Posted by: rosanneromero | February 17, 2009

Did You Fall Into the River, Eeyore?

Never underestimate the wisdom you can get from characters like Winnie the Pooh. Never. I was watching Pooh and Eeyore in one scene. Follow the exchange, it will only take awhile.

Pooh: “Did you fall into the river, Eeyore?”
Eeyore: “Silly of me, wasn’t it?”
Pooh: “Is the river uncomfortable this morning?”
Eeyore: “Well, yes, the dampness you know.”
Pooh: “You really ought to be more careful!”
Eeyore: “Thanks for the advice.”
Pooh: “I think you’re sinking.”
Eeyore: “Pooh, if it’s not too much trouble, would you mind rescuing me?”

Pooh knew in his pooh-way that Eeyore had fallen in the river. He didn’t laugh at him but he asked the obvious and then preached to Eeyore — “…you really ought to be more careful…I think you’re sinking.”

Sounds like some people I know.
In fact, sounds like me.

And the saddest is, Eeyore sheepishly brings himself to ask
“…if it’s not too much trouble, would you mind rescuing me?”

I wonder why we do this to people? Assess their situation coolly, and then dish out some canned bible verses like “just have faith”, or “by His stripes you are healed” which is equal to “Is the river uncomfortable this morning?”, “you ought to be more careful…”, “I think you’re sinking”.
There’s a verse in scripture that runs right along side all this and underscores it.

I’ll use the Amplified Version of James 2: 14 – 17 because it puts it so well
“What is the use or profit, my brethren, for anyone to profess to have faith if he has no good works to show for it? Can such faith save his soul?
If a brother or sister is poorly clad and lacks food for each day,
And one of you says to him, Good-bye! Keep yourself warm and well fed, what good does that do? So also faith, by itself is destitute of power ,inoperative, dead. if it does not have works ,deeds and actions of obedience to back it up.”

The Eeyores who will actually say “if its not too much trouble, would you mind rescuing me?” are few. Omy and I were stumped when someone stole the seat of my motorized wheelchair. Most people said they’d pray we find it. Some of my old chums wondered if I was now going to ride it standing up, trolley style. Verrry funny. Still some others said syrupy things like God-will-make-a-way. But God sent us one couple hurrying to our side. They helped us figure out how we could have some lathe machine guy fabricate a fitting to allow a computer chair to replace the stolen one. It would be patronizing to mention their names here, and so I won’t say who. They know who they are. Thank you, because you showed me that help is something you do. Not something you say. May God grace me to live that.

Someone sent me a quote and I wind my article up with it —- the hands that help are holier than the lips that pray.

Responses

  1. Thats hilarious. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

  2. hi emma, glad you liked this article. thanks for dropping by. I dropped by your site, too! Funny..or uncanny, I used to ride horses.


Leave a Reply

Categories

